Breeze Reporters

UPDATED: Senate President Saraki To Dump APC As 15 Senators Defect

Senate President Bukola Saraki has announced the defection of 15 sentors in the All Progressives Congress, APC, to the Peoples Democratic Party.

Saraki disclosed this while reading a letter during plenary.

He read a letter from 15 members of the All Progressives’ senators declaring their defection from the ruling All Progressives Congress to the opposition Peoples Democratic Party.

The lawmakers include Rabi’u Kwankwaso (Kano-Central), Dino Melaye (Kogi-West), Adesoji Akanbi (Oyo-South), Monsurat Sunmonu (Oyo-Central), Rafiu Ibrahim (Kwara-South), Suleiman Hunkuyi (Kaduna-North), and Lanre Tejuoso (Ogun-Central).

Others are Usman Nafada (Gombe), Ibrahim Dambaba (Sokoto), Mohammed Shittu (Jigawa) Isa Misau (Bauchi) Suleiman Nazif (Bauchi) Shaaba Lafiagi (Kwara) and Barnabas Gemade (Benue).

In a related development, Senator Abdul-Azeez Murtala-Nyako (Adamawa) who had earlier dumped the APC for the African Democratic Congress, also formalised his defection.

Analysts believe, it’s just a matter of time, Senate President Saraki would soon defect to the PDP as his running battle with the APC continues.

READ ALSO:  DRAMA In Abuja As Saraki’s Whereabout Unknown, Senate Shut down

READ ALSO: DSS, Police Lay Seige To Saraki, Ekweremadu’s Homes In Abuja


Editor’s Note: The initial headline is misleading and regrettable, it is hereby retracted.


Breeze Reporters

Add comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.